Guess Who

by Mark Nenadov


My trip to Iowa faded
with big wheels turning
while Gene Clark sang
with longing in his voice
of his beloved Mississippi.

 

I left my friends
and a speed trap behind
and stopped in Dubuque,
but it was Memorial Day
and downtown was deserted.

 

I said goodbye to Dubuque,
and Eagle Point Park
where refreshing rays of sun
illuminated the beautiful river
capturing my eyes.

 

When I saw the rolling hills
and towering windmills slicing the sky
and I approached the City of Presidents
Cuba City, Wisconsin
I felt a bit of
Red, White, and Blue.

 

In town I sat down to eat a messy wrap
and a waitress was amused
by the strange Canadian she served
and I just sat and mused
as the radio played
Guess Who, a Canadian band.

Leave a Reply

