SUICIDE SEASON

by Kelli Simpson


Suicide season caught me

short of an overdose,

so I slept with you to see

what I could catch.

 

Opening day passed by

with you sticky on my thighs

and snuggled like a noose

around my neck.

 

Each day I spilled my sand,

but your suffocating hands

caught the grains as fast

as they could fall.

 

And by the season’s end,

I was sandcastled in

and scratching recipes for hemlock

on the walls.


This poem came in third place in the dVerse Poets Pub second anniversary contest.

One thought on “SUICIDE SEASON

Leave a Reply

