The Lost Family

by James W. Spain, II


I first found the old cemetery
quite by chance deep in the Maine forest.

While hiking the woods
I found the long departed at rest.

Long forgotten by society
ancient stones placed with love though.

I spent some time reading each headstone
a tribute to those buried long ago

with each stone bearing the same family name
a few generations of history I now understood.

These were people that had lived and loved
and departed this world as a family should.

So much sadness to find their remains
deep in that forest and forgotten today.

I returned several times that summer
and visited until cold weather stayed.

With each visit I understood more
and realized my sadness for them with uncertainty.

They had lived and loved on this earth
and now rest together for eternity

surrounded by natures beauty
but most importantly peace.

I decided to leave this cemetery lost and
reclaimed by this forest downeast.

No traffic or crowds
just the sound of the breeze amongst the pine forest.

While hiking the woods
I found the long departed at rest.

Leave a Reply

