1964

by James W. Spain, II


Just for a moment…
It was 1964.

I played right field,
Mom and Dad were in the stands

with the fresh smell of the
recently cut lawn in the air.

The Beatles were playing on
a distant transistor radio with

the sound of popcorn popping
in the concession stand.

I had just caught a pop fly
and we had won the game leaving me

with an overwhelming feeling of pride
because my parents were there watching me.

I woke up a middle-aged man
in the cardiac care unit,

surrounded by my wife
and children.

The doctor said it
was a close call.

With many tears shed and lots
of prayers I was back.

Just for a moment…
It was 1964.

Leave a Reply

