Gift of a Father

by James W. Spain, II


From one generation to the next we
see common traits from afar
that might go unnoticed to ourselves.

Perhaps that same black hair or blue
eyes you grandfather had or the height
that you inherited from your dad.

Could have been the ability to write
a great book or poem or the ability
to complete that mathematical problem.

Might be that you always look out
for the other person down on his luck or
tend to give a dollar to every homeless person you see.

You might like to exercise more than
the average person or perhaps take a
hike in the deep forest all alone.

Maybe you are drawn to the sea
for the sweet music of the waves
or the appealing smell of salt water.

I really feel that one of the best
compliments that one can give or
receive is simply “you remind me of your dad”

That short statement by a person that
knew my father sparks a love for the special
person that I lost so many years ago.

His gift to me might not have been money
or a valuable antique car. His gift to me
was love, understanding and compassion.

Passed through the examples he lived by as
well as the inheritance of his genes. A gift he might
not have known that he gave to me.

As we approach another father’s day and I reflect on
the man that I am because of my dad I feel much pride
and appreciation for the gifts he gave to me.

From one generation to the next we
see common traits from afar
that might go unnoticed to ourselves.

One thought on “Gift of a Father

Leave a Reply

