Getting your winter tires off and summer tires on

by Joseph D. Reich


I drop my car off in the morning at the local sunoco
up in the high mountains of montpelier, vt. finally
getting my winter tires off and it’s the first week
in june; the lady at the gas station, a kind and
compassionate soul, and sometimes if i don’t
have enough bucks might say something like–
“you want to put some gas in and just get me
back later?” this doesn’t happen too often
but when it does am mighty appreciative, not
many around like that and i always been like that
so i pull my car into the local sunoco and there are
these two old schnooks hanging out there checking
me out, you know the ones who never work there just
eternally hang out there leaning up against their vans
and it’s like six in the morning, and got j geils band
cranked–“my blood runs cold, my memory has just
been sold, my angel is the centerfold, angel is the
centerfold…” and one of those songs from back
in your childhood where they repeat that refrain
over and over but one of the few songs i love
where they repeat that refrain over and over
from these two punks checking me out who
don’t even work there–“my blood runs cold,
my memory has just been sold, my angel is
the centerfold, angel is the centerfold”
as seems to make all the sense
in the world and hit the road.

Leave a Reply

