Conquistador

by Melanie Brown


I keep you,
My conquistador
Lover, in my head
near the
frontal lobe
but behind the
part with the
European maps,
you gave me
the plague
my lover,
the Black Death,
my heart rotted
out of my chest,
you discovered
new places
but became shipwrecked
and drowned
in the sea of love,
the Americas were not
that interesting
you preferred Tahiti
and the golden rays
of endless warm
afternoons,
playing horse-shoes
on the beach,
oh my conquistador
you will never find
your way back
to the isle of what
once used to be
and the jellyfish stings
are too painful
our love is
Jetsam,
discarded beef hearts
for the carnivores

Leave a Reply

