Poor Booger

by Catfish McDaris


My uncle gave me a farm cat,
he was pretty cool mostly, but
would scratch up the furniture
and meow loud at night

I named him Booger because
my sister always had her finger
up her nose and wiped her boogers
on the walls, Booger liked to
lick them off for a snack

He always took care of his
business outside, slept with
me, but he’d drag in dead
birds or mice making mama mad

Then Booger gave me the fleas,
I came home from school itching,
Booger wasn’t around anywhere

I asked mama where was Booger,
she said he went to live with your
grandparents in the nursing home,
I got a bad feeling about that.

Leave a Reply

