In Honour of General Obasanjo

by Yomi Habib


I have fought so many wars in a cloud of blood
Where soldiers refuse to dance on weapons
And rejecting to attack the souls on grounds of genocide
of which I saved the earth,
As hunger and the cries of motherhood save the walking corpses,
The wars have made me drive through the turbulent famished road,
Yet I have escaped the horrors of my brothers
In the nemesis of secession and ethnic cleasing,
Kill them all and make them lick their wounds
As the silence of breaking up stares at my face,
And I cannot behold the scandals of war memories
of those who survive the rivers of death
And the gods are crying in the graves of a brave men
who stopped the bloodshed of innocent ones
As I became a messiah in the hand of terrors.

Leave a Reply

