Stitchings

by Amy Sprague


You’re in my ribcage
I turn my love to wreck it all
you try to gather up the pieces
and I watch you fall
from my fists
where I held you
hard and close

I want you to
walk up and bite me
stick your words inside me
and twist them all around
cover up my mouth
and never let me say a sound

I come in like a whirlwind
and you are mine to destroy,
no not you, just love
or the thought of love
or the thought of you
or the heart in my chest
so I can rupture up my body
and never give you that space

but I open up my chest
and violets fly out
and I had a dream
you were walking by
white in the light
with a cigarette in your mouth
not seeing me
and I feel for the first
time the things I let myself lose,
all the time,
and I close

One thought on “Stitchings

Leave a Reply

